Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals

The Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals (NLCHP)  an independent body established by legislation under the Health Professions Act (2010) is responsible for governing the regulation of seven health groups designated under the Act .These professions include:

  • Acupuncturists
  • Audiologists
  • Speech Language Pathologist
  • Dental Hygienists
  • Medical Laboratory Technologists
  • Midwives, and
  • Respiratory Therapists

The NLCHP, in consultation with the Colleges, is responsible for regulating all groups in the areas of registration, professional standards, quality assurance, and discipline. The NLCHP, with two members from each of the professional groups and six public representatives shall act to:

  • support the quality and safety of health services;
  • enhance public protection;
  • improve patient safety and strengthen the regulatory system, and
  • facilitate patient-centered interprofessional collaboration and care